Andouille Pumpkin Soup with Kale and Farro

image

First: I have no ambition to be a chef or recipe-writer.

But I winged this soup from scratch last night, and after ravenously consuming half the bowl above for dinner tonight (after daydreaming about it all afternoon) I decided I should write this down.

It was inspired by this farro risotto with acorn squash and kale recipe that I also recommend and have made using several variations of squash and greens.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 a pound or more Andouille sausage, cut out of the casing (I purchased turkey andouille from DiBruno Brothers in Center City, since the BF is a non-pork eater.)
  • 3-4 cups pumpkin, pealed (I used longneck pumpkin, about the equivalent of a large butternut squash. In fact, I think you could use any squash with good results, though it might be a sweeter soup.)
  • 1 bunch of kale or other leafy green (I used dinosaur kale.)
  • 1 cup tomatoes (I had cherry tomatoes on hand.)
  • 1 cup farro
  • 6 cups broth (I would have preferred to use veggie broth, but I only happen to have beef bullion cubes at the moment. With cubes I use much less than the package calls for. In this case I only used 2 cubes to 6 cups of water.)
  • Spices (I was pretty generous with the salt and pepper and used about a tablespoon of dried parsley)
  • 1 tablespoon of oil for browning the sausage

Optional: Shredded cheddar cheese for serving.

Directions (more or less like this):

  1. Roast squash and tomatoes until tender. I cut mine in slices and removed the skin after, but you could peel before if you are feeling less lazy or pressed for time.
  2. While squash is roasting, brown the sausage in a large pot. Remove and set aside.
  3. Add broth and farro, bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for, like, 10 minutes.
  4. In the meantime chop the kale–I chopped mine pretty small–and then add to the farro and broth.
  5. Once the squash and tomatoes are tender, puree with 1/2 cup of the broth from the pot. Or, you could reserve some broth for this purpose. I also highly recommend an immersion blender to anyone who is big into soup. Easier, less to clean afterwards.
  6. Add the squash broth back into the pot, add the sausage back into the pot, add spices, cook all together until the farro is tender and everything is heated through.

Worth noting, the farro does continue to absorb liquid, so the day after it’s more of a hearty stew and less brothy than the night of, but that didn’t bother me.

It might be time for seconds.

Leave a Reply

