I went through security twice

I over-anticipated the amount of time it would take to get from work to the airport.  I left in a hurry right at 6.  I’d been in since 8:10 in the morning, but still left with a rock in my stomach the size of my unfinished projects and that sensation of having forgotten something important, although I don’t know what and won’t know until it’s essential that I have or have done that thing which I forgot.

So far there are only two.  My toothbrush and to change my voice mail to reflect the fact that I will be out of the office until after Christmas.  These do not seem important enough.  There must be something else.

I was two hours early for my delayed flight and by the holiday graces of Southwest, was able to change to the earlier Philadelphia to Pittsburgh flight, which should have been leaving just then, but was delayed for another hour.  Although she didn’t make me pay, the desk attendant made sure I knew that I normally would have had to pay $62.  I did have to change terminals, and therefore go through security twice.  And throw away my Vitamin Water.

My seat-mate offered me one of her drink coupons.  And although the flight attendant made sure we knew that these old coupons are actually only worth $1 and not a whole drink, because of flight delays, Southwest would buy our drinks for us.

I got free beer and arrived in Pittsburgh an hour earlier than I had planned to; not much inconvenience for me.

One comment

  1. You know, that unsettled feeling in the pit of your stomach, it’s been well documented. Are you sure that your 8 year old son is indeed on the plane with you and not, in fact, Home Alone?


Leave a Reply

