The best thing I’ve read all day.

South Korea opens boot camp to confront cyberspace addiction“Do you have anything to tell your mother?” the drill instructor shouted from below. “No!” he yelled back.

“Tell your mother you love her!” the instructor ordered.

“I love you, my parents!” he replied.

“Then jump!” the instructor ordered. Chang Hoon squatted and leapt to a nearby trapeze, catching it in his hands.

“Fighting!” yelled the other boys, using the English word that in South Korea means the rough equivalent of “Don’t give up!”

After Chang Hoon descended, he said, “That was better than games!”

Was it thrilling enough to wean him from the Internet? “I’m not thinking about games now, so maybe this will help,” he replied. “From now on, maybe I’ll just spend five hours a day online.”

2 comments

  1. It is an incredible article, but when I read it, the first thing I thought was “My host brother from last year needs to go there. I wonder if my old host parents could afford it.”


Leave a Reply

