R-E-C-Y-C-L-E

We don’t have an official recycling bin, but wrote the word “Recycle” on a bucket from the dollar store.  The internet said this would work, but I was skeptical.  Then, around 9 am as I was preparing breakfast (after being up until 4am) the truck came the wrong way down our street and took the contents of the bucket.  Finally, my accumulated recycling doesn’t make me look like an alcoholic.

Have been having a hell of a time getting to sleep.  Some might look in my room and say “You sleep on the floor.  Have you considered this potential source of your problem?”  But I maintain that it is the existential purposelessness of not having to get up in the morning to go to work, though that ends soon enough.  So anyway, I tried to go to bed at 10:30, got back up at 12 and started unraveling the sweater I bought at a thrift store with the help of my Leatherman since I don’t have a seam ripper.  It’s a lot of work by the time you get a usable ball of reclaimed yarn, but also satisfying to be able to say “Oh, you like this handmade scarf?  The materials cost me four dollars.”

I wasted a lot of time on eBay the other night being amazed by how much it would cost to buy enough natural fiber yarn at bargain prices to make that cute jacket in the Stitch and Bitch crochet book.

One comment


Leave a Reply

