Don’t remind me.

I’m putzing through the news and read:

Mr Buffett, who runs the investment group Berkshire Hathaway and is widely regarded as the world’s most successful investor, said that he was a Democrat because Republicans are more likely to think: “I’m making $80 million a year – God must have intended me to have a lower tax rate.”

And I remember: Oh, god.  When I go back to America I’ll have to pay taxes.  And tip.  And, I won’t be paid for nearly every time I eat out.  And, I’ve become accustomed to certain things, like high speed internet and regular gym attendance and I’m only hoping for a job that clears $20,000 a year.  And I buy a lot of lattes.
Hm.

I sort of wish I could skip the next four days.  Not because I’m in such a hurry now to get out of here, but because the last days are the most fraut.  I have to arrange all of my goodbyes, learn quickly about Jeju shamanism, close my bank account, cancel my cellphone, fit all of my rocks into my bags, and not think about how much I like some of these people whom I may never see again.

Leave a Reply

