Good morning.

I walk into class and a student says, as first graders are wont to, a question in a full Korean sentence.

“What?”

“Not here people, come here?”

I usually send someone to fetch the kids who have forgotten or tried not to come. I hate to make 30 copies of a handout and only hand out six. “Yes, thank you.”  On her way out say says in Korean “I like Sara’s hair.”  It’s gotten rather long and quite curly underneath.

Later, of her own accord, she begins dictating for me the words from their sheet that I am writing on the board.  For some reason, although I’ve been here like 11 months now, they all translate “bathroom” as a word I don’t know but that they insist means the same thing as the one I do.

Leave a Reply

