I want to study Chinese now.

I’ve wanted to start studying Chinese ever since Taiwan. I am intrigued by the relationship between strokes in a character and between characters in a word. I don’t really want to speak it. But it’d be really cool to look at calligraphy paintings and see more than beautiful nonsense.

I have added this to my growing list of things to do when I move back home, which also includes “learn yoga, finally, after living where it actually came from and never bothering,” and “get a subscription to the local newspaper.”

Finally, I picked up this book on Korean temple artwork that I have had since January but not read. Made good progress in the afternoon. It includes the Chinese characters for names and terminology; already I know beauty –it resembles a caterpillar. And the character for mind looks like rain falling on the letter L.

Leave a Reply

