You look like a monkey

I am up four chocolate bars and box of waffle crackers. Mr. Jang says “I am very busy” when we offer him birthday cake. Mrs. Choi says “Pat! You very pat!”

“Busy!”

And Mrs. Jang (no relation) explains, “In Korea, busy is another way to say fat.” We insist that he at least take a strawberry.

The best birthday present of all was the moment during class this morning when I thought ‘I knew I could do this teaching thing.’ This semester has gone much better than the last; I have a more optimism and all of my coteachers are supportive and helpful. And I do feel like the kids speak more English of their own volition and outside of class.

That said, if it’s “Shut up, please!” screamed down the hallway, can I still count that as success?

Leave a Reply

