Two hours down…

For reasons that I won’t go into, I was told to come to school the last three days even though my kids have their finals and I have no classes to teach.  Which means I do a lot of unproductive putzing because lesson planning is much more stressful, and is often as unproductive.

Tangent: The phys ed teacher just came through the office; sonsengnim pointed him out after he left — “He: always praise you.”

“Yes, why does he do that?”

“I don’t know.  Because you are so” and he draws an s-line with his hands in the air and I think about how I do sort of miss American office culture where it’s just not appropriate to do that.  End tangent.

As I was about to say, I have nothing better to do than read James Dobson’s commentary on Mary Cheney’s pregnancy.  And be really annoyed that all that seems to have come of social science on gender roles is “political correctness,” which is now synonymous with “the denial of what is the truth about human society.”

So when he says:

Other researchers have determined that boys are not born with an understanding of “maleness.” They have to learn it, ideally from their fathers.

I say “Yes, by Jove, Mr. Dobson you may be onto something.  Maleness is not a genetically endowed absolute!  In fact it is fragile, oh so fragile that we must protect it.  Like a national park.  Else femininity will destroy the world.  Like global warming.”

I wish I knew of a way to empirically investigate whether or not kids were actually less fucked up by their parents before the advent of no-fault divorce.  Could someone with a higher degree get on this?

Leave a Reply

