gifts.

Two first graders run up to my desk, thrust chocolates into my hand “Sara!  Sara! Indo! Indo!”  One girl has told me she wants to go to India someday so twice now I’ve showed her and whomever she brings along, because Korean middle school girls come in pairs, some of my pictures.  In addition to the chocolate, she produces a can of coffee.  We have to go to class–I’m showing Bend it Like Beckham appropriately enough–and then they stay through the ten minute break between classes to look at pictures and ask questions.

Say something in Indian!  Have you been to Europe?  Say something in German!  When they meet the fat ajuma in the movie, what do they say to her?

Leave a Reply

