It will be the first year I’ve ever missed Thanksgiving

Things I would be thankful for if I had them: completed lessons through December. If that were the case, then I could kick back and start making a sampler afghan like this one. If that were the case, then I could teach and knit away the rest of the semester with great productivity. Instead I experience similar phenomena with both my crafting and my teaching. I begin working on something, see it as doomed to failure and unravel/delete what I spent many hours thinking might work, or I have what seems like a perfectly accpetable lesson/pattern so I plod through it not able to figure out why it doesn’t seem to be working.

So what the hell am I going to teach them about Thanksgiving? They get the pilgrims blah blah in their textbook, which has nothing to do with overeating, and watching football.  “Girls, did you know that Thanksgiving is always the fourth Thursday in November because Franklin Roosevelt wanted us to start Christmas shopping earlier?”  And I haven’t been able to think of a way to talk about what we are thankful for such that I won’t get “family” and “friends” from every member of the class. Is there a particular grammatical tense that lends itself to gratitude?

Leave a Reply

