Mian-hamnida

I feel like I should apologize every time I need something from Mr. Kim. He is great person in class, not because he tells me anything about my lessons unless pressed, but because his face is a form of direct feedback. I can tell by looking at him if he thinks I am losing the class, or if things are going well; I can tell when he thinks a particular element was particularly bad by the searching look in his eyes and how long it takes him to decide what nice thing to say instead. And when I go around the corner to where his desk is, he stops what he is doing and assumes an expression similar to the apprehension you see on the faces of athletes who are about to perform some demanding task and are concentrating on being ready for when the whistle blows.

Leave a Reply

