crikey

In my downtime at school I have obsessively read about the death of Steve Irwin.

The other day in an English bookstore in Jeju City, I met a guy from Virginia with nearly transparent skin and varicose veins on his face. My coteacher wanted to say hello so he said “I need to speak with you.” He does this to me all the time. I always expect something serious to follow and it rarely does. The Virginian apparently has edited English conversation dictionaries and has a novel in the works. He spoke English like a Korean and he smelled like peaches.

All afternoon my coteacher would say “Can I ask you a personal question.” Then, “What is your parents’ job?” “How old are you?” “What do you think about international marriage?” His friend who runs the bookstore wanted to know why I don’t smoke, since in America women smoke.

Leave a Reply

