in which Sara teacher feels somewhat like a fake teacher

I have spent many hours agonizing over my first content lesson.  How to not bore the more advanced but not hopelessly frustrate those who can barely spell their names? And I have to question the wisdom of my objective in teaching middle school girls to talk about popular music. I want them to tell me more than “I like Super Junior because they are handsome guy.” But given that my school paid $2000 of my training cost and is contractually obligated to fly me to Seoul three times this year if I ask them to, and built me a classroom, maybe I would better earn my keep by teaching the subjunctive mood instead of words like “catchy” and “lip sync.”

After finding the last ETA’s notebook I feel like I should come up with some form of institutional bribery involving stickers or candy.  Should I not let the students call me by my first name?  Am I a bad classroom manager?

My coteacher’s last day is tomorrow and I will be sad when she goes. There won’t be anyone left who will try to talk to me beyond “Sara, 드세요”–“Sara, eat.”  Or “Sara 선생님, 녹자”–“Sara teacher, green tea.”  We had an English teacher lunch yesterday afternoon that involved surprisingly little English speaking.  My coteacher even translated some of the things I said.  And me in my best speaking to foreigners mode saying things like “I ate raw squid with my host family this weekend.”

Leave a Reply

