I never thought that religion would come up at the dentist.

My dental hygenist on South Korea, Gandhi, and Jesus:

"At least it's a Christian nation–North Korea now. That would be hard. They're killing their own people. That famine is just terrible." Insert my explanation that Americans cannot get North Korean visas. "But you wouldn't want to if you could?" Then–"My husband read a book about Gandhi. He was an interesting guy. He wasn't a Christian obviously, but he said a lot of the same things that Jesus did." Insert my unvoiced comment on how remarkable it is that so many people throughout history have thought that we should treat other people well.

It took longer than usual to clean my teeth.

Leave a Reply

