collected quotes

This is the beginning of a series (theoretically this will not be the only time that I do it) of posts from the paper journals that I kept during my trip. The first pages of all of my journals since the eleventh grade are collections of quotes that I came across during the time period of the keeping of that journal. You see, that first blank page is a terrible thing to stare at as a writer and so I simply choose not to. These quotes are written on the opening pages of the India journals (the first is actually on the cover):

Sacrifice in Knowledge is better than sacrifice with material objects; the totality of all action culminates in knowledge, Arjuna, know it by humble submission, by asking questions, and by service; wise [women] who see reality will give you knowledge. -The Bhagavad Gita

On the day when the lotus bloomed, alas, my mind wandered and I knew it not. –Rabindranath Tagore

The very day I was born I made my first mistake, and by that path have I sought wisdom since. –Mahabharata

Jung had the good sense to be cautious about India. He said he had met many Occidentals in his travels through the subcontinent who thought they were living in India. Jung maintained that they were, in fact, living in bottles of Western air, protected from India by objectivity, causality, and all the other intellectual apparatus of the West. He went on to say “It is quite possible that India is the real world and that the white man lives in a mad house of abstractions.” Emphasizing that without those abstractions the white man would disintegrate in India. –Gita Mehta

Ruth’s statement ‘thy people shall be my people and Thy god my god’ defined ancient society by its most dominant characteristic namely that it was a society of man plus God while modern society is a society of men only (pray remember that in men I include women also). For as an Oriental I belong to a society which is still ancient and in which God is a much more important member than man is. –B.R. Ambedkar

If you want to have life you have to die every moment for it. –Swami Vivekananda

The faculty of voluntarily bringing back a wandering attention over and over again is the very root of judgment, character, and will. –William James

One comment

  1. Pingback: DesiPundit » Collected Quotes


Leave a Reply

